Thrive Disruptively

I want to thrive disruptively. I want to disruptively thrive.

Disruptive~
adjective
1. causing, tending to cause, or caused by disruption; disrupting :
ex. the disruptive effect of their rioting.

Thrive~
verb
1. to prosper; be fortunate or successful.
2. to grow or develop vigorously; flourish:
The children thrived in the country.

How can two words that have such different meanings be combined in such a way? Maybe it’s not the greatest combination…but I was having a pensive moment a few days ago and it hit me. I heard someone on the TV talk about something being disruptive, or being done disruptively. To be completely honest I don’t even remember the details, I was in a totally different room and it just happened to catch my attention. My initial thought (and forgive me, because this is horrible) was, “If I had been disruptive as a child then my situation would probably be a very different one.” I was considering that word, disruptive, in regards to the behavior of my sister. My next thought was, “Nah, wouldn’t have been worth it. I want to thrive and she won’t ever be able to thrive in her life.”

And then it hit me: I want to thrive disruptively.

In a very different way than my own sister, because if we’re being honest here – the only part of that equation that she’s mastered (and ever will master) is the disruptive component.

I want to thrive. I want to be successful. I want to taste, experience, savor, embrace, relish, swim in the true essence of life. I want to travel. I want to have a picture from every country. I want to have experiences. I want an education. I want to be happy and sad and feel everything in between. I want to have genuine, healthy relationships. I want to be able to hold my own, be who I am apart from anyone and everyone else. I want to be confident. I want to feel like I’m king of the world. I want to hike the highest mountains, and swim in the deepest waters. I want to skydive, hang glide, and go parasailing. I want to visit Alaska, Antarctica, spend some time living in NYC. There’s SO much that I want to do and experience. The thought of just going “the typical” route disturbs me – I want to be different.

I also want to be disruptive. I want to turn heads when I come in the room. I want people to respect me and look up to me. I want people to be happy to say that they know me. I want to be remembered and revered as being courageous, brave, thoughtful, kind hearted, caring, generous, humble, forgiving, optimistic, inspiring, etc. I want to know people and have friends all over the world. I want people to think of me when they think of someone who inspires them. I want to be disruptive to the lives of those around me. I want to come in like a wrecking ball and turn everything upside down. I want to give the hopeless, hope. I want to give the poor, resources. I want to give the homeless a safe place. I want to change the lives of kids and teens who have been abused, neglected, abandoned. I want to disrupt this cruel, cold, heartless world with the true meaning and action of love. I want to be that person who can talk the talk AND ALSO walk the walk. I want to be disruptive. I want to disrupt the lives of everyone around me with true love – the love that Christ Jesus has given me.

To be disruptive, in this sense, would be to thrive. And I want to thrive disruptively.

 

“Your greatest responsibility is to live a life that nourishes your highest truth.”
Mollie Marti

Leave a Reply

