Who’s Product are You?

Up until a certain age I only thought of products as certain types of hair styling tool, shampoos, sprays, or different brands of make up. Until I was referred to as a product.

Product of the Suzuki program.
Product of the public schools system.
Product of this teacher or that teacher.
Product of my parents.
Product of the middle class.

You name it, apparently it played a role in creating who I am today. A product of this….a product of that.

So, where’s my recognition? Where’s my identity?

I want you to know that you are not a product. You are not a product of the things around you, your experiences, of past choices, your parents, your teachers, or even your friends. You are a product of one thing and one thing alone:

You’re a product of God.

I get so angry when I hear people refer to me or those around me as “products”…as if the hard work and the time and the sweat and the tears that I put into something only yields desirable results because of someone or something else on this earth. It’s as if I could only achieve x, y, or z because of this person or that person, that program, this special situation because I am a “product” of it/them. People seem to think that without x, y, or z I couldn’t have done it, or made it, or be doing it. (it being anything you choose it to be – career, passion, goal, etc)

Let me tell you – that is all FALSE.

I refuse to be limited by another human being when in reality, I’m a product of God. I am NOT a product of my past, my present, my school, my teachers, my parents, etc. Do not put those human limitations and stereotypes on me – they only limit how much I am able to shine. These human, tangible things can be swept out from under my feet at a moments notice. They do not play a role in forming my identity. I refuse to have my identity rooted in someone else’s hard work, someone else’s program, someone else’s thoughts and ideas. Yes, they helped me. Yes, they taught me and helped me grow, learn, and experience…but that is NOT what I am a product of.

I exist merely to be a light; a light of God’s love and mercy to the world around me. The only thing that I could ever be considered a product of is our Savior, Jesus Christ.

I am so much more than a product of another human being’s time and effort. I am a light. I spread joy and love. I want to shine for the world to see. I am not the limitations of human design. My limitations do not exist because I am a product of an Almighty God. We are fearfully and wonderfully made by a Savior who died for us. Human limitations do not exist when you believe in God because anything is possible in His name.

We are not products of anybody else. We are products of a King who hand designed each one of us for something special – a purpose that only we can fulfill. We are lights. Don’t let human limitations and stereotypical labels dull your shine.

“If you want to identify me, ask me not where I live, or what I like to eat, or how I comb my hair, but ask me what I am living for, in detail, ask me what I think is keeping me from living fully for the thing I want to live for.”
― Thomas Merton

Leave a Reply

