Religion Didn’t Light The Spark in Me

Religion didn’t light the spark in me…Jesus Christ lit that spark!

“All religion ever made of me was a sinner with a stone tied to my feet.”

In debates that have arisen lately, I have had my religion questioned and attacked. This doesn’t bother me because my religion isn’t the core of who I am. Sounds a little weird, right? Not typically the type of thing I say…

But here’s why.

Religion is a set of rules. You choose to follow all, none, or some select ones. You can choose how much or how little you want to involve yourself and to what level you wish to be devoted to it.

However, when people argue about religion, they’re missing the real point. Religion has made nothing of me or anyone else who strictly resides in religion alone.

The real point is this: religion is pointless. You have to fall head over heels in love with Jesus Christ. You can choose to follow religious rituals. You can attend church every Sunday for your entire life. You can memorize bible verses. You can do any “church-y” thing you can imagine.

But a relationship with Christ is like falling in love, rather than just something to believe in. It’s losing your heart – not just giving your allegiance.

People can’t affect me with their attacks, no matter how personal they make them because nothing anybody on this earth could say or do could ever reach me at my core. My core is all filled up with the love of Christ. There isn’t any room for anything else.

This is my truth: God moves, breathes, and constantly sweeps me off my feet. I have fallen in love with my Almighty Savior. I have lost my heart to a God who created and rules the universe.

What I want to share with everyone is that you can argue with religion all you want. You can say every opposing viewpoint in the universe against religion. That’s fine. Go ahead.

You can argue all you want but when you’re arguing with me, you’re wasting your breath. You can’t reach down to my core where my love for Jesus resides.

I have been changed. I thought I knew what real love was when I fell in love with a boy at the age of 18. I thought what I had with friends was unconditional support, I thought my parents were giving me unconditional guidance and love, but none of that can be attained in this tangible world. Only Jesus can provide the NEEDS of true love, support, guidance, and a slew of other positive emotions.

Life isn’t any easier if you’re religious than it is if you’re atheist. Nope. Religion doesn’t matter. Those are just the rules. Follow them if you want. Or you can follow Jesus and fall in love to the core of your soul. I’ve been saved, I’ve fallen into unconditional love – I’ve found peace.

So, that being said…I pray for people constantly who think that religion is all that they’re arguing against. You got nothing on my God!

 

Be on the alert, stand firm in the faith, act like men, be strong. Let all that you do be done in love.” – 1 Corinthians 16:13-14

Leave a Reply

