“Light, Light, Light Up The Sky.”

I am floored, shocked, amazed, in awe of my Savior. I stare up at the sky and I see Him in the clouds, in the light blue that paints the floor of heaven. I see Him in the cold mornings, his reflection is in the frost that blankets the earth. I see Him in the stars which have formed constellations for years and years – God’s finger paintings. I see Him in the smiles of young children and the kiss my girls give me every morning when I wake up. God is in the twinkling lights that line people’s gutters and sidewalks. God is in the laughter that friends exchange and the hugs given to loved ones.

But what’s even more amazing to me is this: God is in every tear that is ever cried. God is there for every heartbreak. God is present for every sleepless night. God is there in the forced smile of someone who is struggling to hold on. God is there when someone has a bottle full of pills and feels the emptiness of hopelessness in their chest. God is there in the hospital – the ICU, each and every waiting room. God is there when all you can do is lay in a heap on the floor screaming, and on the days where you can’t even manage to get out of bed. God is there at each and every funeral and memorial service. God is there for every single mourning soul on this earth. God is there for every triumph, every trial, every last breathe that each of us breaths.

“Not a hair can fall from my head without the will of my Father in Heaven.”

Here is something that I’m not sure I can fully comprehend: Our God is both a King and a servant.
Our Savior is a King who has authority and rules, but he also serves us completely all the time.
I’m not sure how to exactly explain how this is true because the depth of this is astounding to me. Our God rules with no rage, no anger, no intimidation – but He still has authority and control. While all at the same time He serves with love, kindness, selflessness, and sacrifice.

We have a God! It is inconceivable to me that God does not exist. I know He does. He does. He does. He does. We have an Almighty King who brings healing to the hopeless – those who are damaged on the inside.

Many people all around us may be mourning, hopeless, or feeling helpless. I know I do at times. Sometimes, life seems so big and so dark and I feel so little and helpless, that asking God for help seems like just a shout into a void. Sometimes I find myself having transformed from a brightly burning candle, on fire for Christ and His love, to a candle which just has a faintly burning wick. Well here’s the completely amazing part: Jesus won’t let out flame EVER go out. No matter how small in may get at times in our lives – it will never be distinguished.

The source of light – of ALL goodness in this world, is Jesus Christ.
If we, as Christians, are the moon in the sky at night – we have the ability to provide light to the world around us. However, God is the sun. And the moon can not possibly create light for others without reflecting the light the sun provides for it first.

Here’s the hope I rely on each and every day:
God will provide us the light we need. Sometimes our world feels dark, but as long as we’re living, there is some source of light around us. God provides that light and we, much like a mirror (or the moon), have the obligation to take the light which is all around us and reflect it in our lives. We must live in the 24 hours provided for us. We must strive to reflect God’s character in all that we do, and yearn to grow to be more like Him.

In order to reflect the light and restore our candle wicks, we must strive to first absorb the light of our King and put it to use in our lives. Then we will have a flame that extinguishes darkness and we will be filled with the hope of our God in Heaven.

 

“All the darkness in the world cannot extinguish the light of a single candle.” – Be that candle today and every day.

“There’s always going to be bad stuff out there. But here’s the amazing thing — light trumps darkness, every time. You stick a candle into the dark, but you can’t stick the dark into the light.”
Jodi Picoult, Change of Heart

Leave a Reply

