New Year’s Resolutions

It’s December. With December comes lots of packed schedules, crazy amounts of stress, and not quite enough time – no matter how well you can juggle things. What most people look forward too in this month is, if you’re Christian – celebrating the birth of Christ, and if you aren’t Christian (and even if you are) the celebration of a new year come January 1st.

I think we all know where this is going…January 1st. The first day of a blank slate. A new opportunity to recreate ourselves. Another 365 day adventure around the sun. Another year under our belt, another chance to make those new years resolutions.

I remember growing up, I would always make new years resolutions. The majority of the time they were goals that were far too lofty and by the end of February I had lost hope and energy in pursuing them so I fell back into being my same-old-self from the previous year. Of course, that wasn’t always accurate, but I mostly resorted to my old habits and ways.

2015 will soon be upon us and I would like to challenge you to reassess your New Year’s Resolutions.

This will be the first time since I can remember, that I won’t be silently setting the goal to lose weight or get in shape by summer. And that’s okay. I am trying (and sometimes struggling) to be okay with that. It’s out of the norm for our society and it’s out of my own personal norm. But I am capable of change. This year, I am making a resolution NOT to give up around March and resort back to my old ways and habits. I am making a commitment to keep trudging along – through whatever natural disasters (or human-imposed) disasters that may strike. I want to challenge you to do the same. I want to challenge you to make new years resolutions that are realistic and maintainable, but most importantly, one’s that feed your soul.

It’s important to acknowledge both our neediness and to cultivate our independence, not just this year – but every year. My new year’s resolutions encompass both these traits. I hope that you, as an individual, are capable of seeing yourself for what you are truly worth – you are priceless. You do not need to make a resolution to lose weight, get fit, get better grades, work more, work harder, do this or do that. You need to make resolutions that will help you become more of who God created you to be – resolutions that lift you up and re energize you, refuel you, relax you, etc.

Some of my new years resolutions are as follows:
1. Schedule self-care/alone time each day
2. read some of the books I actually like (not just school books)
3. learn to be more patient and more kind with myself
4. Make intentional R.A.K. as often as possible
5. Share the word of God with people when I have the opportunity
6. learn to cook something new
7. Try to grow and nurture compassion for myself.
8. Practice using my voice more often/saying what’s on my mind more
9. Practice trusting people, relying on people, being willing to ask for help from people when/if needed.
10. be out in nature more

Maybe yours will look similar – maybe it will look totally different. As long as it’s healthy, rewarding, soul-feeding goals that are yours and yours alone, you can’t go wrong. These are YOUR new years resolutions because this is YOUR year to grow, love, flourish, and learn everything you can from the world around you.

Another suggestion that I’ve heard of, and have the intention of trying out this year, is that on New Year’s Eve, you pick a word. ONE WORD. You hold on to that word and all it’s intricacies and complexities throughout the year and you try to put it to use in your life as often as possible. This year, I plan on choosing the word “LOVE”. I am trying to cultivate love for myself, those around me, love to share, love towards God, and the acknowledgment and acceptance that others can and will offer me love as well – love that I deserve and am capable of accepting.

So again, I challenge you – make a soul-feeding, healthy, uplifting list of possible new years resolutions. Pick one word to carry with you on your next 365 adventure around the sun!

If you’re reading this, you’re beautiful. You are cherished, you are loved deeply. You can do it. The thought of a whole new year can be daunting. God is standing there with you, ready to take your hand and face the new year head on. Always remember,

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” – Philippians 4:13

“For last year’s words belong to last year’s language
And next year’s words await another voice.”
T.S. Eliot, Four Quartets

Leave a Reply

