To: My Dearest Butterflies

Dear Butterflies (you know who you are),

We are warriors. I know that sounds cliché and cheesy, but it’s true. Holiday season(s) are hard – maybe some of the absolute hardest times of the years. All the memories – what used t be, what could have been, what SHOULD have been, what SHOULD be, and all the reminders of brokenness. It’s as if the holiday cheer highlights the previously easy to push aside brokenness of our fragile lives. I know. I know it’s hard. I struggle too, but that’s okay. That’s part of life and what makes it beautiful is the FACT that we are able to overcome our struggles.

I am writing just to remind you that I love you. You are worthy of love. Yes, YOU. I care about you no matter how many miles may be between us. You are absolutely, breathtakingly, beautiful. Not only in how you look though, your beauty mostly resides in your laughter, your hugs, your intriguing thoughts, the way you face your fears silently and often times, all at once. You are a beautiful SOUL. Also, if you’re reading this…you should EAT! You deserve too. You are fearfully and wonderfully made (and whether or not you’re religious, the point still stands)!!! When you feed your body, keep in mind that you’re also feeding your life. Drink that coffee all you want! But have a slice of toast or a sandwich to go with it. 😉

Remember, you are brave and for most of you I say this because I have SEEN you be brave right before my eyes. You have inspired me and you continue to inspire me! Don’t let anyone force you into doing things you don’t want to do – this holiday, or ever for that matter! You deserve to use that beautiful voice of yours and stand up for what you believe is right and what truly matters to you. That’s partially why I’m writing this – because I believe in you and you matter to me, so I figured I’d better just say it!! :*

You are a child of the universe, of God, of your mother – whatever it is you believe, you are still a child and you deserve all the love, care, and compassion in the world. If there’s no one there in your life to provide that for you, then what better way to receive it than by offering it to yourself?!

It’s hard. It’s so remarkably, horribly, tragically difficult to love yourself. And if you’re not at a point where you are able, know that I love you. I always will. And also know, that just like a catepillar turns into a beautiful butterfly, you also can survive. You can do more than survive – you can thrive and live with abandon! I believe in you! Stay strong this holiday season and if you need ANYTHING at all, I am just a text, phone call away. Message me on FB if you don’t already have my number.

I love you and God bless!

“We delight in the beauty of the butterfly, but rarely admit the changes it has gone through to achieve that beauty.”
― Maya Angelou

bfly02

Leave a Reply

