Music Matters

As I was practicing today, I was recalling different parts of the lesson I had a few days ago. One thing in particular kept popping up in the front of my mind. It was a point my teacher had made to me. She had said very similar things in the past, but I must admit – sometimes I can be pretty dense, so it took a few repetitions to make it all the way to my brain I guess. I’ll paraphrase:

“Every note is a new opportunity. Leave the mistakes in the past and keep moving forward with determination.”

This is real life. Whether or not you are a musician, this is the day to day reality of human existence. Every day presents us with new opportunities similarly, with every note I play I have the opportunity to make it beautiful, different, right, or whatever I choose.

And this thought then brought me to a comment my parents have made to me many times in the past:

“We won’t be disappointed if you don’t end up having a career in music. We want you to be happy. We won’t ever regret all the money and time we’ve put into it, because regardless of the outcome you have learned SO very much!”

Again, this is truth. I have been reflecting a lot lately (that time of year, I guess) and I have truly had my life shaped and my character built by participating in music. I could write a list a mile long of all the things it has taught me, but here are the things I cherish most:

-teamwork
-leadership
-how to make friends
-communication
-responsibility
-work ethic
-compassion
-love

and as I said, I could continue. But these are a few things which I can say are easily at the top of my list of the things I learned from music.

Every note is a new opportunity. Every day matters. Experiences all have meaning. We can make decisions about who we are and how we act and react to our world. We can make a difference. With every right note we play, good day we have, smile we put on a strangers face, chance we take to give, and sacrifice we make – we are changing the world.

By teaching music, sharing music, playing music – we are reaching out. I can never put into words how grateful I am for all my teachers that I have and had. They continue to teach me on a daily basis without even knowing it. I have learned how to be vulnerable, authentic, and true to myself – all from these beautiful souls who have taken me under their wings and guided and supported me. I have learned not only music from them, but how to be kinder, more caring, show compassion, and love my life and those around me more fully.

And so with all that being said, with every note I play (wrong or right) I can continue forward with determination. But also with the joyfulness of knowing that – one note at a time – I am taking part in changing the world.

God’s a funny guy – he’s given me all this passion, this overload of love for people around me, things around me, and a life full of music (as well as many ups and downs). He’s made me sensitive, emotional, and taught me so much from all the lessons and trials he’s put me up against. I will never stop playing music, because when I play music, I can feel God smiling down on me. I can feel His presence more fully in my life as I honor Him with all I do.


 

 

 

 

IMG_20141107_175353 IMG_20141107_171522-1

 

“Music gives a soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination
and life to everything.”
Plato

Leave a Reply

