The Happy File

Rainy days can be hard. I typically find myself drawn back to bed, wanting to cuddle up under the covers and hide away from life. (Actually, that’s not just an issue I struggle with on rainy days…but that’s an entirely different post!) Today, I tried to keep the sunshine near at hand in whatever way I possibly could.

It’s days like today that make me appreciate the sunshine – not just the literal UV rays that dance down from the heavens and keep me humming throughout the day, but the people and things that cheer me up throughout the days.

It’s so very easy to fall into a rhythm – day in and day out, always following the same pattern, dancing to the same beat, humming the same tune. I want to challenge you, as well as myself, to mix up the beat, change up our steps, add some harmony into that familiar tune. The best way that I’ve found to do this, is to remember moments that made a difference in my life – those rare moments that I stopped to capture a memory, take an extra breath, smile a little wider. It’s called the “happy file” and anyone and everyone should create one of their own.

You can create a paper copy of marvelous moments for your happy file, or you can just keep a list mentally and try to pull them to the front of your brain on occasion – on days like today, a rainy, dreary, hide-away from the world, type of day.

Let me share something that I stored in my happy file recently (as in, yesterday haha).

This is Chloe. She is my 10 year old, completely blind, English setter (the one the blog is named after!). I was fortunate enough to capture this moment in which my heart swelled so much I thought it might burst.

10408757_10205775791501588_8137225848898044323_n

Ever since Chloe went blind (2 summers ago) she hasn’t been as playful, as outgoing, and she definitely lost that spark she used to carry in her eyes. Every now and then, when she is SUPER DUPER happy and excited, she will get that look back – her ears perk up, her eyes get that spark back, and she becomes full of kisses and energy. I saw that Chloe yesterday – when the weather was warm enough to sit outside, to play in the yard, to soak up the sun shining down upon my face as well as my furry-best-friends’ face. It’s a moment for the happy file, for sure.

On rainy days, hard days, and even on good days – take a moment to look through your own happy file and recall beautiful moments that meant a lot to you. I know that sometimes recalling moments when I felt happy, free, and life around me seemed to just click, is the only way I can manage to get through tough days.

Today wasn’t one for the happy file, but I was able to recall some past happy-file-moments that made today liveable. One day, one hour, sometimes one breath at a time. Store those priceless memories – no matter how insignificant they may seem to those around you. Praise God through the storm and never give up hope. 🙂

 

10426302_10204749160676459_615962015158633940_n

“A real friend is one with whom you can be silent.”
Anonymous

1377014_10204749160796462_5775384237583734833_n

“A dog is the only thing on earth that loves you more than he loves himself.”
Josh Billings

Leave a Reply

