Dear Future Husband

(No, this isn’t the Meghan Trainor song – it’s safe to keep reading).

Dear Future Husband,

I want you to know that even though we haven’t even met yet (or maybe we have?) I am already in love with you. However, before I get caught up in that “head-over-heels” emotion that is consuming and at times, mind numbing from the truth of reality, I want to say a few things.

I don’t expect you to be Prince Charming. Let me clarify that, I DO expect you to be charming and a gentleman, but I do NOT expect you to be a Prince. Come on, I can be a least marginally realistic! Haha, jokes aside though, there are a few things I will need from you that I might as well just put out on the table right now.

The first, and by far, most important thing I need from you is that I need to be your second love. Wait, what?! I want and need to be your SECOND love. Second only to your love of Christ. I don’t want to be your first priority. I want your relationship with God to be your first priority. I, however, would like to reserve a close second place 😉 Without us each having God as our first priority our relationship can only reach but so deep and endure but only so much. In order to stand the tests of time and the hardships which life will, inevitably, fling in our faces we both need to be rooted in something other than each other. I need you to push me and help me grow in my own relationship with Christ and I pray that I can do just that much for you as well.

The second thing I need from you is for you to love my children, unconditionally. Did I say children? Oops I meant my four legged, long eared, fuzzy friends. If my dog(s) don’t like you, it’s just not going to work out. Be kind, be loving, bring lots of treats over while we’re dating, buy them holiday presents and birthday gifts….show me what kind of dad you have the potential of being to our future kids by loving my furry friends half as much as I do.

Thirdly, I need you to love my quirks. I need you to be patient and understanding where my passions are concerned (music, that is). I need you to love that I have time, attention, and a love for something that you might not share with me. I need you to be my biggest cheerleader, to love me throughout my frustrations, and to share in my triumphs. I need you to be there to cheer me on even if you don’t know how to pronounce the names of the pieces I’m performing. I need you to help me care for this love of something so powerful and to help me nurture my gift for God, and God alone.

The last thing isn’t really something that I need from you, but something I desire and I hope you desire also. I want to be your one and only and I want you to desire the same. We’ll hit rough patches, we’ll both mess up and make mistakes, but I want us to be able to hold hands and love each other through out all the trials life throws at us. I want you to know that I am your biggest fan, your number 1 supporter, your confident, your lover, and your very best friend!

Love,
Future wife

 

“To be fully seen by somebody, then, and be loved anyhow – this is a human offering that can border on miraculous.”
Elizabeth Gilbert

Leave a Reply

