My Dog

My dog is my best friend.
She listens without interrupting,
loves without condition,
and always offers up a happy kiss.
I read my dog the bible every single morning.
She is wise beyond her years.
She, without a doubt, loves God.
I know this because she looks at me while I read and whenever I stop, she nudges me with her paw, as if to say – more please!
I admire my dog because nothing can get her down.
No matter how many times she slides across the floor and straight into the wall in the attempt to catch a toy, no matter how many times her poor little paws get stepped upon, no matter how many times she hears the word “No!”…she never expects to get any less love from the world.
I want to be like my dog.
She wakes up every morning without remembering the hurt from yesterday and with anticipation that the day ahead won’t be anything less than extraordinary.
My dog never complains, never goes on crash diets, and never cares about my grades.
She sits quietly when I’m sad and jumps and spins in adoration when I celebrate.
I am her person, she is my pal.
My dog is my biggest fan and I am, without a doubt, her biggest fan as well.

“A dog is the only thing on earth that loves you more than he loves himself.”
― Josh Billings

“If there are no dogs in Heaven, then when I die I want to go where they went.”
― Will Rogers

 21251_10205932120489715_1391964201551624438_n1619155_10205495984066577_6430767482649020924_n

Leave a Reply

