Live Life With The Windows Rolled Down

I am one lucky human being. Today I am feeling humbled and in awe of the world that I reside within. I had 8 hours all to myself in the car today, which – call me crazy – doesn’t bother me one bit. The weather was gorgeous, the sun was shining and the sky was completely clear. Life is too short to ride without your windows down on days such as these!! I blasted my music, let my hair fly free, and sang at the top of my lungs – worshiping God and all His glory. It was refreshing. It was humbling to feel so small and insignificant in such a gloriously beautiful world such as this one. And it occurred to me – just like life’s too short to ride without your windows down, life is also far too short to love within constraints.
My 8 hour car trip was traveling to and from my violin lesson. I love going to lessons because that’s a safe space for me – a space where I am allowed to be wrong, allowed to freely make mistakes, allowed to ask questions, allowed to try new things, encouraged, supported, and uplifted, and I could go on and on. My lessons are one of the few times that I am free of “creating myself.” It takes so much focus to listen, adjust, change, interpret, etc the music that I’m dealing with that there’s no space to worry about my performance outside of music. Whether anyone aside from myself knows, I am uniquely myself during my lessons, more-so than any other time. There’s no pressure to say the right things, do the right things, be the right way, look the right way, etc. And all of that aside, my lessons are just FUN. It’s fun to learn, to be with my teacher, to be pursuing something so genuine and authentic.
So, as horribly off topic as that all seems, I realized today that in order to love more fully – love those around me, the world around me, and MYSELF more fully – I need to take risks. I need to be willing to let the wind mess up my hair every now and then, sing at the top of my lungs, and feel the sun shining down on my face. Otherwise, life probably won’t end up being all that fun – definitely not a fun road trip without those things involved!
I’ve learned far more from my teacher than just music…and today was just another example of how feeling someone’s love and support can inspire us to reach even further out in our own lives – I know I plan to expand my horizons. It’s time to take risks – to roll our windows down, allow our hair to get messy…we may discover sunshine by doing all of that, but we’ll never know if we don’t try. There’s an entire world out there to explore, to learn, and to love. We can take risks in every aspect of our lives – personal, relationships, educational, spiritual, etc. It’s worth the risk, even if we fall falt on our faces every once and a while.
Here’s to loving life, counting blessings, thanking God, and learning to love OURSELVES more fully each and every day. If recovery has taught me one thing it’s that, not every day will be good but there is undoubtedly something good within every day. A beautiful life is worth the fight, even if sometimes it gets messy along the way.

va

Leave a Reply

