On Dark Days

Some days you will have moments of pure joy. I hope you capture them and you hold on to them. For some of us, the majority of our days feel dark and foreign…these moments of bliss are fleeting and rare. But they are worth it. When the sun comes out from behind the abyss of darkness and rain and we can feel our skin being touched by rays of sweet sunlight, we are reminded of the sweetness and true-ness of the world around us – feelings only provided by a God who is the ultimate creator. I hope you know this feeling. I hope you fill yourself up with sunlight and allow it to spill over the rims of your person and into the lives of others. One day, I want to be sunlight. For now, I am fighting darkness. For now, I am merely surviving in a world that doesn’t feel like home. Today I am breathing…and that is enough. For today, I am learning to be kind and gentle with myself. But one day, one day soon, I will change the world. Maybe I won’t defy gravity, save lives, or even be remembered. But I will provide light for another human soul lost in darkness like I am struggling to pull myself out of. There is no hero to this story. There is not even necessarily a happy ending. There is just life. And the hope that maybe tomorrow will be just a little bit brighter.

Jeremiah 29:11
“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

purejoy

Leave a Reply

