An Open Letter To My Family

An Open Letter:

It’s unfortunate, really, the way we learn some of the very crucial lessons we must learn in life. But amongst the rain, wind, lightning, and claps of thunder – there is hope. There is life and ultimately joy and peace.

I have done a LOT of really, really tough learning. I feel as if I should have a degree in “life’s hard lessons” although I know down in my heart, the learning has really only just begun. At the end of the day – or sometimes, year(s) – once the storm has calmed and we are brave enough to turn around and look back at the destruction, we typically are able – if we look hard enough – to find growth, progress, and hope in what we walked/crawled through. Ultimately, these storms are blessings. Sometimes it takes a couple hours, days, even years to realize this though – and that can be painful.

So, in honor of a few of life’s toughest lessons…here’s an open letter to the people in my life:

Dear World (and all those who reside within it),

I know my world is very small. I see and hear only a miniscule portion of the larger realms of existence. I hear truths that aren’t true and see small glimpses of what is truly a much larger picture. My world is tiny, although I hate to admit that. I have been blind to miracles happening right before my eyes, missed out on things that were blatantly set in the pathway before me – but I have been growing. I have been learning and trying to open my eyes wider and wider with each passing moment. I have been changing what my ears hear, the truths I accept as reality, and the prayers that I pray fervently each and every day. Life is a process…a journey which I have learned you can NOT accomplish through sprinting.

This is why I’m writing publicly. I want to address some things in my life that have aided misbeliefs, lies, and wrong patterns of thinking. I will not name names, however, I will do quite a bit of thanking.

So here it goes:

I want to thank my family. Not my blood relatives – but my REAL family.
I want to thank my very best friends in the whole world – those who live here in town with me and those spread out all over the country.
I want to thank my lovely parents.
I want to thank all my teachers who are now friends…the ones who watched me grow up, fall down, and helped me get back up again.
I want to thank my church pastors and choir members.
I want to thank my medical team(s) for the minor details – like keeping me alive and stuff. Thanks for being patient, laying down the law, and for the threats – it all felt horrible while it was happening, but in hind sight I really do appreciate it.
I want to thank those who have stood next to me in the storm and held my hand without letting go.
I want to thank everyone who reached out a hand and tried to help me up – even if I refused to take your outstretched hand when it was offered.
I want to thank those who have lifted me up – through prayer, laughter, hugs, or through music.
I want to thank those who have complemented me, offered kind words, or words of peace and love – even if I didn’t hear you at the time, thank you.
I want to thank those of you who have written me letters, e-mails, etc and been able to put a smile on my face when my world was under water.
I want to thank those of you who have filled the voids that biological family has (and continues to leave) in my heart. Thank you for helping to aid my soul in restoration and recovery from some of the most painful wounds I have ever experienced in my entire life.

Recently, I have had to learn through hard lessons that some of the people we have trusted the most, admired the most, and loved the most, aren’t really who we thought they were at all.

Regardless of these tough lessons, God has blessed me with a much larger and truer family than I could have ever imagined having – I am blessed with some of the most amazing friends that any human being could ever hope or pray to have! God has been so good to me, and I know these tough lessons are taught with my best interest in mind…at the end of the day (or maybe a few years from now) I will look back and thank the Lord God above for the wisdom He has provided throuh these tough trials and lessons and I will remember, with fondness…some of the greatest memories with my TRUE, REAL, family.

Thanks to my real family – May God bless you and keep you every single day. Here’s to lots more prayers, laughter, smiles, and good times to come and a future that’s shining brighter than ever!

All of my love, always,
Sarah Catherine 🙂

“When everything goes to hell, the people who stand by you without flinching — they are your family. ”
― Jim Butcher

“The capacity for friendship is God’s way of apologizing for our families.”
― Jay McInerney, The Last of the Savages

gods-way MD129~Your-Friendship-Is-A-Special-Gift-Poster

One thought on “An Open Letter To My Family

Leave a Reply

