An Open Letter to My Teachers

Dear friends,

I am who I am today for a lot of reasons. Partially due to the relationships I have formed and the people whose paths I have crossed.

I tend to be a storm. I don’t do things gracefully or quietly. I come in with a rush of wind and rain, sometimes with dancing clouds and clear blue skies. And I am loud – I am enthusiastic and eccentric and very strong willed. I don’t back down easily. This is truly part of the reason that I’m still alive.

But I can make waves…and they aren’t always easy to surf. So, here’s to metaphors that make life more interesting. And here’s to the teachers and mentors who have been willing to pull out their wetsuits and deal with my waves and torrential downpours.
There are so many individuals who have been crucial to my development, not just as a musician, but as a person in general that I couldn’t possibly list them all or address them individually. Plus, if the past is any indication of the future – there will likely be many more in the coming years.

So, to the teachers, coaches, mentors, directors, leaders, and friends who have been constantly shaping me – my heart goes out to you.

I truly believe that there isn’t much out there that is more powerful than music. When you study and work on something musical you have no choice but to make yourself vulnerable and pour your soul into it. These teachers have taken what I have to offer (which at different points in my life was little to nothing) and helped me to understand it, shape it, create new, and to change and evolve as an individual. Because of the musical insight these people have been willing to share (despite my being hard headed and deaf sometimes) I have a deeper understanding of what I do, musically. But there is so much more than just that…

Because these people have provided a safe place for me to be vulnerable I have discovered more than JUST musical insight. I have had the opportunity to share a piece (sometimes even chunks) of who I am, my story, my life’s journey. These individuals have welcomed me with open arms and allowed me to scream, cry, get frustrated, and yes…even do “the violin stomp” sometimes.

As musicians, we are constantly evolving and changing in many, MANY ways. Thank you to the individuals who have had faith in me when I had none in myself, have lifted me up when I couldn’t stand on my own, have guided, pushed, and supported me through thick and thin. Thank you for being there. Because, even if you never came straight out and said it, I know that you were there for me for more than just music. I know that I could/can come to you with life’s everyday problems and you will make space and time for me. Thanks for showing me that I am not ever too much or too little. Thanks for weathering my storm and leaving the light on so I could always find my way home.

You have left your mark on my life and a huge impact on my heart. I carry a little bit of you with me everywhere I go and it is comforting to know that you are always there. Thank you for everything you’ve done to change my life. I love you!

Love always,

Sarah Catherine 🙂

“When you study with great teachers… you will learn much more from their caring and hard work than from their style.”
William Glasser

Leave a Reply

