One Thing Never Changes

Things have been CRAZY. I mean, really and truly CRAZY. I have been running around like a chicken with it’s head cut off trying to catch up with all my friends, take care of things, people, appointments, get all my stuff purchased and organized for school, practice violin, go to lessons, and this and that and on and on. Some days I find myself wanting to collapse in bed and call it a day at 3pm! But I push through…not always because I want too, but because I have too.
I’m getting ready to head off to school and I already feel like I need a break! My head is constantly swimming with “what ifs” and dates, numbers, lists, details, etc. It’s hard to find a quiet moment…even in the middle of the night when the world around me is silent.

For the sake of vulnerability, let me share something with you: I am scared.

My entire life is about to change and that is terrifying. I am moving to Michigan leaving my friends, my family, my church family, my medical team, my teachers and colleagues…they’re all staying here and continuing on with their lives. I will be starting fresh – a new school, new city, new friends, new teachers and peers, a new church, a new medical team, a new…adventure.

Adventure:
noun
1. an exciting or very unusual experience.
2. participation in exciting undertakings or enterprises:
the spirit of adventure.
3. a bold, usually risky undertaking; hazardous action of uncertain outcome.

This next step is definitely an adventure. I am ready and prepared…I know I can do it! But it’s still so hard that EVERYTHING is changing.

And that’s when it hit me – I was having the above argument/discussion in my head and I realized…everything in my PHYSICAL world is changing, but there is one thing that will remain the same – one thing that NEVER changes no matter what changes in me and around me: Jesus Christ.

God has been here through everything – he has never quit loving me or providing for me. Each day when I wake up, he has given me everything I need to make it through the day ahead of me – that will never, ever change. God will go with me on this adventure – heck, God is WRITING the story as I live it out! I am never ever alone in this physical world, despite my surroundings.

I was driving home from spending time with a dear friend this afternoon and a song came on the radio and it moved my heart – funny how God uses the simplest things to talk to us!

“I will Follow You”
Jon Guerra

“When the sea is calm and all is right
When I feel Your favor flood my life
Even in the good, I’ll follow You.

When the boat is tossed upon the waves
When I wonder if You’ll keep me safe
Even in the storms, I’ll follow You

I believe everything that You say You are
I believe that I have seen Your unchanging heart
In the good things and in the hardest part
I believe and I will follow You

When I see the wicked prospering
When I feel I have no voice to sing
Even in the want, I’ll follow You

When I find myself so far from home
And You lead me somewhere that I don’t wanna go
Even in my death, I’ll follow You

When I come to end this race I’ve run
And I receive the prize that Christ has won
I will be with You in Paradise

I believe everything that You say You are
I believe that I have seen Your unchanging heart
In the good things and in the hardest part
I believe and I will follow You.”

God was speaking to me – “Even in the good I will follow you, Even in the storms I will follow you.”

I truly believe in everything that He is and I believe that there is beauty in every storm and learning in every trial. I believe and I KNOW I am outrageously blessed by so many things – the people and friendships in my life, the experiences, the music, etc. There are so many miracles.

This next step is scary – terrifying, even. My history is not great and there are a countless number of things that could go wrong. But I’m looking forward in excitement, anxiousness, and with an open heart – I’m just trying to follow God’s path for my life, wherever and whatever that may entail. I will go forward in confidence and with an open heart and mind and I will change my world…and hopefully along the way, I’ll change a few other people’s as well. I know this life isn’t futile, even though there are days that it feels that way…God is going to use me. This huge transition is a leap of faith – but I’m diving head first into the arms of an unfailing Savior!

So, here’s to adventure,
here’s to learning,
here’s to loving,
here’s to a fresh start…

selif central 11745736_10206847275608021_8412971792644405609_n

“I BELIEVE AND I WILL FOLLOW YOU.”

Leave a Reply

