Personally. Powerfully. Passionately.

Today, a trusted confidant said to me, “Keep remembering, Christ is enough!” It put a huge smile on my face because just yesterday I was reading Max Lucado’s daily devotional titled, “Grace For The Moment” and came across this excerpt on Psalm 18:50:

“You show unfailing love to your anointed…” -Psalm 18:50
Some of you are so thirsty for this type of love. A love that never fails. Those who should have loved you didn’t. Those who could have loved you didn’t. You were left at the hospital. Left at the altar. Left with an empty bed. Left with a broken heart. Left with your question, ‘Does anybody love me?’ Please listen to heaven’s answer. God loves you. Personally. Powerfully. Passionately. Others have promised and failed. But God has promised and succeeded. He loves you with an unfailing love. And his love – if you will let it – can fill you and leave you with a love worth giving. So come. Come thirsty and drink deeply.”

Here are the pieces I highlighted in my journal: Those who should have loved you didn’t. Those who could have loved you didn’t. Left with a broken heart. Left with your question, “does anybody love me?” God loves you. Personally. Powerfully. Passionately. He loves you with an unfailing love. And his love can fill you and leave you with a love worth giving.

I highlighted these sentences because as I read them, reread them, and then reread them again…they made my heart hurt and they spoke to me. “I am not alone. I am not alone. I am not alone.” was the message that I was hearing in my head. I have felt those things – family members who have decided they can’t be bothered. Loved ones who exclude and judge. A broken heart and a head full of “why’s?”.

But God loves me. No matter what others have or haven’t done – will or won’t do. I have an Almighty Savior who will NEVER, EVER fail. He has gone before me and fashioned my days for me – he knows all my highs and lows and is better acquainted with my ways than even I am able to be, myself. He loves me unconditionally. He loves YOU unconditionally. He loves us Personally. He loves us Powerfully. He loves us Passionately. His love for one does not lessen or diminish his love for another. He is always there, always awake, always listening, always ready to mend broken hearts.

My heart is (slowly, but surely) being healed by my all powerful, mighty God. I am so thankful for the days full of wonder and glory…and also so thankful for the days which end in breakdowns and tears. I am thankful for it all because through both good and bad I am able to see His mighty works and learn more and more about His mighty ways! As God slowly helps me piece my heart back together again, He is filling me more and more with His unfailing love. As I grow in my relationship with Christ and learn more of His love for me, I am also slowly falling more in love with myself. I am learning to love my quirks, my strengths, and yes – even my undeniable weaknesses. I am falling in love with my need for early mornings, strong coffee, introverted-ness, strong willed heart, stubborn mind, and even my flimsy and extremely delicate heart. As Christ teaches me how to love myself and as I feel more and more confident basking in his undeniable love for me – I am becoming more and more able to give my love away freely. I am learning to love the world around me and to love the people all around me!

The shepherd who guides, the Lord who provides, the voice who brings peace in the storm, the physician who heals the sick, and the banner that guides the solider…He’s looking out for you and me. He is healing broken hearts, and mending broken souls. He is teaching us how to love.

His works are all around us – more numerous than the number of stars in the sky, if only we choose to look up.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dEikONAlV78

“My deepest awareness of myself is that I am deeply loved by Jesus Christ and I have done nothing to earn it or deserve it.”
Brennan Manning

12122764_10207480235831631_6535894559965691755_n

Leave a Reply

