New Year Prayers

Ahhh…December 31st! The last day of the year is exciting, stressful, fun, and sometimes even sad. It can be sad to let go of a year that was super amazing, or it can also be sad to reflect on a year that was maybe super tough. Either way, there is some level of mourning that comes with ending a year and starting a new one. I don’t know about you – but for me, the beginning of a new year can be overwhelming for a few reasons.

The main reason that I find the new year to be overwhelming and daunting is because people refer to it as a “fresh start”. 2016 will be another chance to “get it right” or “do better” or…make new years resolutions and try, try, try, to stick to them! I sometimes wish there could be a few days between December 31st and January 1st so I could rest up and prepare, mentally for the blank page being set before me.

One other reason, which I’m hoping will lessen in impact over time, is that January 1st tends to be the start of the entire world’s new diet. And for whatever reason, people feel the need to broadcast their weight loss or document their meals on every single form of social media. For someone recovering from an eating disorder this can be extremely triggering and damaging. I tend to avoid social media outlets around the new year. Let’s be real – most people settle down and aren’t vigorously posting about their “yummy salads” or their “12395854002399 mile runs” by the end of the month.

So, instead of setting some new year’s resolution that I won’t keep for more than a few months (which will only get me feeling bad about myself and guilty, in the end) I think this is the year to set new year’s prayers…

Here are just a few of my prayers for 2016:

1. I pray that I could learn to not only embrace change, but to seek it out and enjoy the newness and the unknown that it brings to my life.

2. I pray that I could be engaged and present in the pursuit of my dreams and goals and that those dreams and goals would always be used to glorify God.

3. I pray that I can simply be me. And that I could grow to love who I am and to know that who I am is enough.

4. I pray that I can believe in myself – that my confidence, courage, and commitment to Christ would grow and flourish. I pray that I could begin to believe in the beauty of the dreams God has given me.

5. I pray that I can choose daily to surrender – surrender trust to the Lord, surrender anxieties, pains, tears, heartache…but also that I could consciously choose to surrender in my recovery, and the world around me over which I have no control.

6. I pray that I can do what is right, even when it is the harder thing to do.

7. I pray that I can let go of others expectations and opinions of me. The only opinion that matters is that of Jesus Christ – and His is one of love.

8. I pray that I can learn something new every day. I pray that I can continue to seek out knowledge and pursue wisdom, all for the glory of God!

9. I pray that I can live my life to it’s fullest this year. I pray that I will be fully alive in each moment and embrace event the things that are painful and scary so that I can also be fully alive to feel the exciting and beautiful things too.

10. I pray that this will be a year full of giving back to others – giving back to others with no intention of receiving anything in return. Also, I pray that I will not only give to others – that I can also learn to give love and nurturing to myself as well.

11. I pray that this will be the year that I break – break through the mold others have place me in, break through barriers separating me from others, break through others expectations, and break down my own walls I’ve put up.

12. I pray that throughout whatever this year throws at me – when it knocks me down, when I find myself standing on the top of a mountain screaming for joy, when I am crippled up in pain and mourning, when it seems too good to be reality, or when it seems like I can’t possible take another breath – that I will grow through all of it.

I refuse to set resolutions that I won’t or can’t keep. I refuse to set myself up for failure or disappointment. I am choosing to pray this year – for God to continue to work in my life and shape me into who He has destined me to be.

I am praying for more growing, more learning, and more becoming.

I am who I am. This is my journey. I hope you join me for all the adventures and trials that 2016 will bring. Welcome to my world. Feel free to share this link and pass on the message:

Friends, you don’t have to prove yourself, you don’t have to try to be someone else, YOU ARE LOVED – and if you know that in your heart, there’s nothing you can’t conquer in 2016!

“One resolution I have made, and try always to keep, is this: ‘To rise above little things’.”
― John Burroughs

“One resolution I have made, and try always to keep, is this: ‘To rise above little things’.”
― John Burroughs

“The only way that we can live, is if we grow. The only way that we can grow is if we change. The only way that we can change is if we learn. The only way we can learn is if we are exposed. And the only way that we can become exposed is if we throw ourselves out into the open. Do it. Throw yourself.”
― C. JoyBell C.

10570295_10207754687652755_1303933243827101659_nrachirooooo

Happy New Year from me and these pups!  May you pursue the things that bring you joy, glorify God, and add light to the world!

1239852_10201723083186413_400875892_n

One thought on “New Year Prayers

Leave a Reply

