When The Doing Doesn’t Equal The Being.

We are all capable of doing many different things. However, most of us are not capable of being many different things. We all hold different skills at different levels of proficiency which aid us in pursuing what is hopefully our God-given passion in our lives. But more importantly than the things we do in life, is who we are striving to be.

I for one, am famous for over scheduling myself. Even after 22 years of over scheduling, I still think I am capable of getting more done in a 24 hour period than I ever truly am capable of completing. Old habits die hard, I guess?! It’s something I’m working on. In my mind, if I am constantly doing – constantly going – constantly engaged, then I will somehow magically become whoever it is I think I am aiming to become. Wrong.

Most people have heard the saying, “Actions speak louder than words.” It’s true. Mostly. You see, words are empty without action behind them. Actions are what we DO in our lives – the choices we make a thousand (or more) times every day – what clothes to wear, what route to take to work, what to eat for lunch, and the list goes on and on. What we DO can directly impact how we feel about ourselves, our lives, our friends, etc. But no matter how actively we are involved in our lives and the lives of those around us we still may not be getting victory over our problems. Just because we go-go-go and do-do-do doesn’t mean that we are becoming who Christ intended us to be.

I used to whole heartedly believe that I could fake it till I made it. I thought if I was able to LOOK as though I had my life all put together – clean, tidy, neat, and perfectly in line – then I would FEEL as though I had my life put together and then it would somehow magically actually become that way. But the trick to it all is this:

The doing is external. The being is internal.

The doing, not always but often times, can be a distraction from the lack of being. When we aren’t sure of who we are, who we’re supposed to be, or who we yearn to become in our lives, the doing acts as a way to look and feel busy – but at the end of the day we are still deeply dissatisfied and unhappy.

There are so many aspects that play into our emotions and roles as human beings that I could write for a mile about all of them, but I will save you that headache and jump straight to the big idea (more to come on the little details in future posts!).

We don’t have to fake it. It’s okay to say, “I don’t know.” It’s okay to be unsure. What’s most important is our willingness to surrender our questions up to God. Because, plot twist, He does know. He’s known since the time we were conceived – He’s know who we are, who we will become, who He intends for us to be, and what route we’ll take to get there. The ONLY way to release the urge and the addiction of “doing” in our lives is to allow the Holy Spirit to carry us from a “doing” state of mind to a “being” state of mind.

We are all capable of doing many different things in, through, and with our lives. But we can only be truly happy doing all those things if we are to BE who God created us to be. It’s okay to admit that you don’t know – but never lose hope because God does know. And if you ask Him, He will guide you to your answer. It may take time, it may take heartache, it may take questioning, revamping, and it will DEFINITELY be a test of trust. Always remember – God’s never late. He may not act on our timetable, but that’s where the trust comes into play – He will show and lead us if we ASK Him too. But we must be willing to slow down our DOING, to quit our FAKING, and to admit that we DON’T KNOW.

One of my goals this summer is to be a light to those around me. I will be in many different situations with peers, younger girls, older adults, etc and I want to learn how to best BE myself (i.e. who God intends for me to BE) around those different types of people and I want to aid them in finding comfort in who they are truly meant to BE.

BEING is believing. By BEING our God-intended selves, we are enabling others to shine and find who they are meant to BE. We are setting examples of our trust in Jesus and, even if we don’t know it, we are lighting a fire in the lives of others that will carry them farther and bring them more happiness and joy than any overly-packed schedule ever will.

God bless!

“So many people walk around with a meaningless life. They seem half-asleep, even when they’re busy doing things they think are important. This is because they’re chasing the wrong things. The way you get meaning into your life is to devote yourself to loving others, devote yourself to your community around you, and devote yourself to creating something that gives you purpose and meaning.”
― Mitch Albom

index.png

Life is a painfully beautiful thing. Don’t be afraid to live it fully. Don’t be afraid of the being. Don’t be afraid of becoming who God intended you to be.

Leave a Reply

