A Little Fish In A Big, Big Ocean.

 My body is an instrument. My body is a vessel that can be used for so many different purposes – good, bad, and everything in between. My body is a tool that keeps me safe, protects, warns, heals, and helps me.

Today, my body carried me up to the top of a mountain. My legs climbed rocks, my feet crossed over logs, my arms helped me balance, and my heart – well, my heart kept beating relentlessly and my heart also helped remind me that I am a little fish in a big, big ocean.

Oh how I love, love, love the mountains. I used to dream of living at the beach but now I dream of a view of the mountains from my back porch. There are many reasons that I am obsessed with the mountains.

Simply put, I am enthralled with their beauty. I am consumed with wonder by their towering heights and their overwhelming mass – the way they remain unchanged over thousands of years. They are sturdy. They are stable. They have weathered many different seasons, different climates, different weather, and so much more. The mountains seem noble in their stance – unmoveable and confident in their place in the world.

I also love mountains because they remind me how small I truly am. To sit there in the windy silence, to feel the sun on my face, to witness the sway of the trees….it’s like the closest visual to God that I can even fathom. I can’t imagine the view of my savior and I can’t wait until the day that we meet face to face, but for now – for now, the mountains will do.

Those tall, majestic, land masses remind me how small I am in this big, big world. When I sit there and see how big the world around me is, I am reminded of how temporary this life is here on earth. I am comforted by the fact that there is something more and something greater in the future. I am relieved that I am just a small portion of this life and that my existence isn’t all that there is – there is eternity waiting for me after this brief life ceases. There is eternal love, hope, and joy on the other side of all this earthly pain and suffering. I am reminded, by the mountains, that life is a constant climb upward, that it’s okay to slip and stumble from time to time, that we will all make it up to the top in our own way and in our own time. I am in love with the mountains because the mountains remind me of God. The mountains remind me of home. The mountains remind me of eternal glory. The mountains remind me of the smallness of my own brief existence here on earth before I join my heavenly Father for eternity in heaven. The mountains put me close to heaven. The mountains remind me of who I am and WHOSE I am.

The mountains remind me that I am a little fish in a big, big ocean.

The mountains are calling and I must go.”
John Muir

Climb the mountains and get their good tidings. Nature’s peace will flow into you as sunshine flows into trees. The winds will blow their own freshness into you, and the storms their energy, while cares will drop away from you like the leaves of Autumn.”
John Muir, The Mountains of California

13567283_10209333315797472_5366543507692356686_nmountainmountain1

13524404_10209333313757421_788729092373365716_n

“They say, Find a purpose in your life and live it. But, sometimes, it is only after you have lived that you recognize your life had a purpose, and likely one you never had in mind.”
Khaled Hosseini, And the Mountains Echoed

Leave a Reply

