My Rachi – My Rock

For those of you who don’t know, this is Rachi:

 

Rachi’s name is pronounced like “Rocky” but it’s spelled R-A-C-H-I because I named her after my favorite classical composer, Rachmaninoff. You can read about how Rachi and my friendship got started by clicking this link:

https://mygirlchloe.wordpress.com/2016/10/13/the-greatest-worst-decision-ever-made/

A lot of times I refer to Rachi as “my Rachi”. Sometimes (as if it’s needed?) I shorten Rachi to simply Rach (but when spoken, it sounds like “rock”). Today as we were on a walk around the neighborhood, I referred to her as “my Rach” saying, “Come on, my sweet Rach, we gotta keep moving – it’s so cold outside!” as I nudged her a bit with my knee in order to keep her focused on moving forward.

As I spoke it out loud, “my Rach”, it occurred to me how fitting it is that I call her that. Just earlier this afternoon someone asked me, “Is it tough to have Rachi while in college?” to which I replied, “Yes, but it would be tougher not to have her.” At the time, that was the extent of the conversation. But then I began thinking about how “my Rach” truly is “my rock.”

You see, if it weren’t for Rachi, there are days that I literally would not get out of bed. There are times that I would never leave my apartment. There are times that I would have made potentially life threatening decisions. Rachi forces me out of bed in the mornings. She demands that we keep some type of routine (I mean, when a girl’s gotta go, she’s gotta go!). She aids in social situations by being the friendly face that acts as conversation starters. She makes even the worst days a bit more bearable with her wiggly, waggly tail that eagerly greets me when I get home. She sleeps with her head on the pillow next to mine – reminding me, if I wake up in the middle of the night and feel the weight of the world bearing down on me, that I am not alone here. She forces me to leave my apartment and get fresh air and sunshine. (Okay, this is Michigan and January – there is no sunshine, but there IS fresh air.) She keeps me moving when I think I can’t keep going. She makes me laugh even as tears roll down my cheeks. She has been the force which has started so many conversations that have led to friendships and meaningful relationships. Her love is unconditional. There are honestly days where I tell myself, “Keep going. Keep fighting. Keep trying. Don’t give up quite yet. Rachi needs you.”

She is “my Rach” and most importantly, she is MY ROCK. Her sweet little four legged soul is a gift from God and the healing, love, and hope which she has brought into my life can not even begin to be measured.

Dear God, thank you for giving me a life saving little rescue pup. Thank you for the trials and the struggles which brought us together and have helped us form a one-of-a-kind- bond. My prayer is that, while I have her here with me on earth, I can give her the best life possible – full of adventure, spontaneity, health, and most importantly – full of the same type of unconditional love that she has shown me.

Rachi is proof that miracles exist. She is proof that God sends us love and hope in the most unusual ways, exactly when He knows we need it.

“I want to be around people that do things. I don’t want to be around people anymore that judge or talk about what people do. I want to be around people that dream and support and do things.”
Amy Poehler

“But your solitude will be a support and a home for you, even in the midst of very unfamiliar circumstances, and from it you will find all your paths.”
Rainer Maria Rilke

“A best friend is the only one that walks into your life when the world has walked out.”
Shannon L. Alder

15826177_10211044727861704_4538617978602062499_n14291628_10209937647825395_8668232133888511919_n

Follow us on instagram at:

sarahcatherine_andrachi

Leave a Reply

